Click here to listen to an audio version of this page

Led by Toonspeak Young Peoples’ Theatre, the Here We Are Culture Collective project is based in Ward 17 (Springburn /Balornock / Barmulloch / Robroyston / Millerston), in the North of Glasgow. A quarter of the datazones in Ward 17 are among the 5% most deprived datazones in Scotland. Therefore, the artists working on the project are passionate about using creativity to empower communities who face challenges of multiple deprivation, and to improve the lives of individuals. All artists are trained and supported to see themselves as part of the community. The expertise and knowledge of the project’s partners support the creative team with a deep understanding of the social, cultural and historical landscape of Ward 17.

All Here We Are workshops are free for all participants, with a mixed art form programme involving children, young people, and adults.

Outcomes achieved in phase one (March 2021 – September 2022):

  • 10 community groups involved in creative and artistic experiences.
  • 148 people involved in creative and artistic experiences.
  • 3, 428 attendees involved in creative and artistic experiences.
  • 300 people involved in the celebration event.
  • 11 artists involved in delivering the programme.
  • 100% of participants have increased their confidence.
  • 96% of participants note an improvement in skills development.
  • 100% of participants have improved wellbeing.

The Here We Are team are now in phase two and are focusing on the following areas of work:

  • Early years work
  • Artist, partner, support workers and volunteer training
  • Working with partners to develop arts hubs

Project film:

Project partners
Here We Are is supported by six partners who form the core steering group. Each of these organisations have extensive track records of delivery, links in the community and key expertise to offer the Culture Collective programme.

Project team

  • Culture Collective Manager – Emma Stewart-Jones
  • Associate Artist – Jaz Grady (multimedia)
  • Associate Artist – Hugh Holton (music)
  • Associate Artist – John-Martin Fulton (visual arts)
  • Associate Artist – Ross Macfarlane (theatre/music)
  • Associate Artist – Hayley Earlam (dance)
  • Associate Artist – Indra Wilson (performance/theatre)
  • Associate  Artist –  Sean Casey (visual art)
  • Associate Artist – Miriam Early (dance)
  • Assistant Artist – Michael Burslem (music)
  • Assistant Artist – William Coleman (theatre)

If you would like further information please contact the Culture Collective Manager on [email protected]